PSA: Rules everyone should follow to stay safe on the water

I’m Anouk Govil, and I’ve been surfing and kayaking for a few years now. I’ve also been learning how to angle in different bodies of water. While I love being on the water, I’m well aware that being safe trumps just about everything else, including having fun.

Here are a few safety rules that everyone should follow.

Children should always be supervised by adults.

While most lifeguards are good at their jobs, how effective they are is decreased when the number of people they’re looking after goes up. Families with children should always designate a watcher (who knows how to swim) for the kids when they go in the water.

Wear life vests when doing sports in open water.

Even surfers nowadays are asked to wear light jackets and other apparel that keeps them from going under. However, for those engaging in open-water and boating sports, keeping the life vest on is paramount.

Stay clear of pool suction fittings and drains.

The problem with pool suction and drains is that there may be connections to electrical devices. It’s best to keep these parts covered because the sensation it gives is mighty attractive to children.

Observe the weather before going into the water.

This is one of the “Anouk Govil’s Rules of Thumb” before surfing. I never go out into the waves without knowing the weather conditions. And you should, too.

Hello, I’m Anouk Govil, a biology student based in Venice, CA. I love spending my free in the water, either surfing, kayaking, or fishing. Click this link for related posts.

 

Leave a comment